Former champions highlight Champions League quarterfinals

For the first time in the history of the continent’s premier club competition, it will be an all former champions affair when the knockout stages of the 2019-20 Total CAF Champions League come to live later this month.

After concluding the group stages, eight former champions reached the quarterfinals. In between them they share 29 Champions League trophies, making this edition’s knockout stages one of the most exciting and promising ever.

The list includes record eight time champions Al Ahly of Egypt, their domestic rivals Zamalek and DR Congo giants TP Mazembe (five times each), title holders and four time champions Esperance of Tunisia, three time winners Raja Casablanca of Morocco, city rivals and two time champions Wydad, and one time winners Etoile du Sahel of Tunisia and Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa.

Group A

TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

Champions: 1967, 1968, 2009, 2010, 2015

Founded: 1939

Nickname: Les Corbeaux (The Ravens)

Zamalek (Egypt)

Champions: 1984, 1986, 1993, 1996, 2002

Founded: 1911

Nickname: The White Knights

Group B

Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

Champions: 2007

Founded: 1925

Nickname: Jewel of the Coast

Al Ahly (Egypt)

Champions: 1982, 1987, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013

Nickname: The Red Devils

Group C

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Champions: 2016

Founded: 1970

Nickname: The Brazilians

Wydad (Morocco)

Champions: 1992, 2017

Founded: 1937

Nickname: Wydad of the Nation

Group D

Esperance (Tunisia)

Champions: 1994, 2011, 2018, 2018-19

Founded: 1919

Nickname: Sang et Or (Blood and Gold)

Raja (Morocco)

Champions: 1989, 1997, 1999

Founded: 1949

Nickname: The Green Eagles

Source: Confederation Africaine de Football CAF)

Related posts