South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has named a provisional 30-man squad for next month’s Total Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Domestic champions Mamelodi Sundowns have seven members included in the Bafana Bafana squad which was unveiled on Tuesday (21 June 2019) in Johannesburg.

Baxter will trim his squad to 23 before the travelling to Egypt on 16 June from their training camp in Dubai where they will play friendlies with Ghana and an unnamed opponent.

Montpellier’s Keagan Dolly has been included in the squad after recovering from a broken leg whiles in action for his French and he will be part of Bafana’s Cosafa Cup squad to gain more playing time.

The coach has included nine overseas players in the team with 21 from the Premier Soccer League.

Crystal Palace youngster Nikola Tavares and FC Zurich defender Joel Untersee have been included but will need to swap their national allegiance before appearing for South Africa.

South Africa will present their U-23 squad at next month’s Cosafa Cup in Durban before leaving for Dubai on 12 June to play Ghana and arrive in Egypt fours later.

They will open their Group D account against on 23 June against Cote d’Ivoire in Cairo before taking on the Atlas Lions of Morocco and debutants Namibia.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Rowen Williams (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Bidvest Wits), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Joel Untersee (FC Zurich, Switzerland)

Midfielders: Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Tiyani Mabunda (Mamelodi Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg United), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford, England), Ben Motshwari (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Serero (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Zungu (Amiens, France), Nikola Tavares (Crystal Palace, England)

Forwards: Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Strasbourg, France), Percy Tau (Royal Union St Gilloise, Belgium), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Source: Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF)

Related posts