Kenya head coach Sebastien Migne has named a provisional squad of 30 players for the Total Africa Cup of Nations Egypt 2019, maintaining a huge chunk of the squad that helped the Harambee Stars qualify for the for the first time in 15 years.

The squad will be captained by Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama and the strike force will be led by current Kenyan Premier League top scorer Allan Wanga and Japan-based Michael Olunga.

The Frenchman has also handed a call up to AFC Leopards midfielder Whyvonne Isuza who has picked up form over the last month, scoring five goals in eight matches. Sweden-based Chris Mbamba is in line to make his Kenyan debut after being handed a spot in the team.

Mbamba was called up for the last qualification match against Ghana but could not play as his paperwork was not completed. The forward is a naturalized Kenyan born and raised up in Sweden.

Major absentees in Migne’s squad is defender David Ochieng as well as striker Jesse Were who has been among the Zambian league top scorer’s for the last three seasons. Migne however says the former Tusker FC forward does not fit into his style.

The team will have its first training session next week. The squad will be whittled down to 26 before they travel for a three-week training camp in France and after that, a further three will be dropped before they travel to Cairo for the tournament.

While in France, the team will play Gambia and Madagascar in friendly matches to help the coach prepare.

Harambee Stars AFCON provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St. George, Ethiopia), Faruk Shikalo (Bandari FC, Kenya), John Oyemba, Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya).

Defenders: David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya) Joseph Okumu (Real Monarch, USA), Joash Onyango, Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Eric Ouma (Vassalund, Sweden), Aboud Omar (Sepsi OSK, Romania).

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Ismail Gonzalez (UCD Las Palmas, Spain), Teddy Akumu (Zesco United, Zambia), Dennis Omino (Sofapaka FC Kenya), Eric Johannah (IF Bromma, Sweden), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Whyvonne Isuza, Paul Were (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Johannah Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Clifton Miheso (Olimpico Montijo, Portugal).

Strikers: Ovela Ochieng (Vassalund, Sweden), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa reysol, Japan), Chris Mbamba (IK Oddevold, Sweden), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), John Avire (Sofapaka, Kenya), Masud Juma (Al Nasr, Libya).

Source: Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF)

Related posts