Walace Karia has been elected as the new president of the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) for a four-year term.

Karia, a former vice president of the TFF, polled 95 out of 128 votes at the elective General Assembly held on Saturday, 12 August 2017, in Dodoma.

Fellow contenders Ally Mayay and Richard Shija garnered nine votes each, Imani Madega � eight votes, Fredrick Mwakalebela � three votes and Emmanuel Kimbe � one vote.

Speaking after his election, Karia assured he won’t disappoint football lovers in the country, adding he will be guided by the TFF Constitution and as well ensure good governance.

We will work on several challenges that hinder the development of our football. Let’s cheer this victory by working harder to give back good results to the football community, said Karia, who succeeds Jamal Malinzi.

On the other hand, former TFF General Secretary, Michael Wambura, was elected vice president after polling 85 votes against 21 by his closest rival, Mulamu Ng’hambi.

Members of the Executive Committee elected to represent 13 zones of the country are Vedastus Lufano (Mwanza and Mara), Fransis Ndulane (Pwani and Morogoro) and Mohammed Adeo (Dodoma and Singida), Lameck Nyambaya (Dar es Salaam), Dustan Makundi (Lindi and Mtwara), Salum Chama (Kagera and Geita) and James Mhagama (Njombe and Ruvuma).

The rest are Mbasha Matutu (Shinyanga and Simiyu), Kenneth Pesambili (Katavi and Rukwa), Sara Chao (Arusha and Manyara), Elias Mwanjala (Mbeya and Iringa), Issa Bukuku (Kigoma and Tabora) and Khalid Mohammed for Kilimanjaro and Tanga.

Source: Confederation Africaine de Football

Read More